Past Meetings

2018

Wednesday, May 23

“Recruiting and Training Democratic Women to Run for Office” with Karen Besserman, executive director of Emerge Washington.

Wednesday, May 9

“Making Retirement Security Real for Everyone”

Wednesday, April 25

“Initiative 1600 and Health Care for All” with Sarah So of Whole Washington.

Wednesday, April 11

“Sustainability Initiatives: The Port’s Century Agenda” with Seattle Port Commissioners Fred Felleman and Peter Steinbrueck.

Wednesday, March 28

“Defense Challenges: North Korea, Pakistan/Afghanistan, and Syria” with Congressman Adam Smith, ranking member of the House Armed Services Committee.

Wednesday, March 14

“Health care for all in Washington state: Washington’s 1993 Health Care Reform Act and Obamacare in the Age of Trump” with Phil Talmadge, former justice of the Washington Supreme Court. [Photos]

Wednesday, February 28

“Report on a Pollution Poll and Clean Energy Initiative” with Andrew Villeneuve, executive director of Northwest Progressive Institute.

“A Resolution on Tar Sands Oil Transport via British Columbia and the Salish Sea,” proposed by Judi Gibbs at the last meeting (February 14) and drafted by Ann Martin.

Wednesday, February 14

“Taking Care of the Northwest Environment – What’s Behind and What’s Ahead.” Long-time MDC member Roger Leed will talk about environmental issues in the first of a series of programs presented by the MDC Climate Change Task Force.

2017

Wednesday, November 15

The MDC will discuss the future of the Health Care Task Force and the possibility of forming an Environmental Task Force.

Wednesday, October 25

Senator Bob Hasegawa, a long-time member of the MDC, will provide an overview of what happened (and what didn’t) in Olympia last session.