MDC promotes good government through educational programming, social discourse, and support for progressive public policy, candidates, and campaigns.

Unless otherwise noted, our meetings take place the second and fourth Wednesdays of each month, from noon to 1:30 pm, at: Plaza 600 Building, 600 Stewart Street, Suite 205, Seattle.


Upcoming Meetings

Wednesday, February 14

“Taking Care of the Northwest Environment – What’s Behind and What’s Ahead.” Long-time MDC member Roger Leed will talk about environmental issues in the first of a series of programs presented by the MDC Climate Change Task Force.

Wednesday, February 28

“Report on a Pollution Poll and Clean Energy Initiative” with Andrew Villeneuve, executive director of Northwest Progressive Institute.

“A Resolution on Tar Sands Oil Transport via British Columbia and the Salish Sea,” proposed by Judi Gibbs at the last meeting (February 14) and drafted by Ann Martin.

Wednesday, March 14

“Health care for all in Washington state: Washington’s 1993 Health Care Reform Act and Obamacare in the Age of Trump” with Phil Talmadge, former justice of the Washington Supreme Court.

Wednesday, March 28

“Defense Challenges: North Korea, Pakistan/Afghanistan, and Syria” with Congressman Adam Smith, ranking member of the House Armed Services Committee.

Wednesday, April 11

“Sustainability Initiatives: The Port’s Century Agenda” with Seattle Port Commissioners Fred Felleman and Peter Steinbrueck.


Endorsement Meetings

Wednesday, June 27

Primary election endorsement proceedings.

Wednesday, September 26

General election endorsement proceedings.

 


Upcoming Events

Sunday, June 10

The MDC’s annual A Chautauqua Afternoon, where we’ll hear from candidates for elected public office.

Tuesday, August 7

Pete Holmes’s progressive election night party. Details to come.

Sunday, December 9

The MDC’s annual winter holiday party. Details to come.